Mahra Polo and Wolves Polo proclaimed winners in the second action day of the McLaren Cup 2018
Mahra Polo and Wolves Polo achieved great victories in today’s double action day for the McLaren Cup, the opening trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2018, 18--‐goals handicap competition, at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.
Mahra Polo defeated Bin Drai by a close 6.5 goal to 6 and Wolves Polo defeated UAE Polo by 10--‐7. So far all the teams have played in the tournament and all shown a competitive streak. In the first game of the day, the half goal handicap difference in favor of Mahra was decisive to win a very even match against Bin Drai.  In their debut game for the McLaren Cup both teams showed a good performance and will be a tough opponent for the rest of the teams.
Match Progression:
Mahra Polo--‐ 1.5--‐1/ 2.5--‐2/ 5.5--‐3/ 5.5--‐4/ 6.5--‐6
In the second match of the day, Wolves Polo achieved a great victory against UAE Polo by 10 goals to 7 with a performance that touched perfection. Wolves teamwork was the clue to defeat a really tough opponent like UAE Polo with 10 goaler superstar Polito Pieres in the team.
After a close first half, Wolves, patron Habtoor Al Habtoor’s team, raised the level to increase the gap to 3 goals in the beginning of the second half and despite of UAE Polo comeback in the fourth chukker (7--‐6) they achieved to control the actions and score three more goals in the last seven minutes of the match for the final 10--‐7 victory.
Match Progression:
Wolves Polo--‐ 3--‐2/ 4--‐3/ 7--‐4/ 7--‐6/ 10--‐7
The McLaren Cup will continue this Thursday, 1 February with, Habtoor Polo playing against Bin Drai Polo at field 2 of the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club. Five high--‐goal tournaments fall under the umbrella of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series: The McLaren Cup, which runs from 26 January to 9 February, The Polo Masters Cup from 10 to 15 February, The Julius Baer Gold Cup from 16 February to 9 March, The Dubai Challenge Cup from 14 to 23 March, and The Dubai Cup from 6 to 13 April 2018.Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series
The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is the fourth-largest tournament of its kind after Argentina, the United States and the United Kingdom. Founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009, the tournament is the premier regional polo competition of the year, attracting VIPs, society figures, and senior corporate executives from across the region. It has grown in tandem with the city of Dubai, and since 2012 it is the only tournament in the United Arab Emirates to be recognized and certified by the World Polo Tour (WPT). It is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA), with the tournaments being played under strict international supervision according to the HPA rules and provision of its umpires.
Mohammed Al Habtoor, Founder of the Gold Cup Series and patron of the Habtoor Polo team, said, “This year there are six teams playing in the McLaren Cup. The participating teams will host some of the top--‐ ranking world polo tour players, including Pablo Mac Donough, the 10--‐goal superstar and three--‐time Triple Crown Champion with La Dolfina; Polito Pieres, another 10--‐goal figure and winner of the 2012 Gold Cup in England; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8--‐goal handicap]; Francisco Elizalde [ 8--‐goal handicap]; Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario [8--‐goal handicap], and many others who have come directly from Argentine Open.”
The final of the McLaren Cup will take place on 9 February 2018 from 1pm at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club, located in Dubai Land.
There are six participating teams in The McLaren Cup 2018:
  • Zedan Polo Team (Patron: Amr Zedan)
  • Bin Drai Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Bin Drai)
  • Habtoor Polo Team (Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor)
  • Mahra Polo Team (Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor)
  • UAE Polo Team (Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum)
  • Wolves Polo Team (Patron: Habtoor Al Habtoor)
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+